






|
SPAM: Receiving Junk Email
"My story about spam on Internet Nebraska"
|
|
COMBAT SPAM! Lately I have received a lot of spam (Junk email) advertising various things I am not interested in.
The most recent was some crap "QUIT SMOKING IN JUST 7-DAYS (717)". I don't even smoke. The return address was bogus, like it always is
with these spam email messages.
By examining the header details I was able to locate the source of the spam email. Here is a copy of the Header details:
Received: from mta2-mail.mailcity.com (digital-175.horizons.net [208.197.220.175])
by falcon.inetnebr.com (8.8.8/8.8.8) with SMTP id EAA07907;
Tue, 23 Feb 1999 04:25:05 -0600 (CST)
The mailcity.com was basically bogus too, it is just a free email service provided by Lycos and being used as
a front for the spam operation. I was able to locate a real server at horizons.net. I am certain that horizons.net existance is exclusively for sending bulk and spam email.
My plan was then to connect to port 25 of horizons.net (their sendmail service) and try to locate a valid email account. I then planned on forwarding the spam email message back to
the account with another message attached expressing my displeasure.
Every time I tried to connect to horizons.net on port 25 it kept connecting me to my own mail service. I tried this on two different machines to verify this. It seems they reverse all connections back
to the origin ip address, where the connection was requested from. Apparently they are aware that some people would get this far and this is another tactic they use to prevent feedback from their crap they send out.
You have to remember that there are actually two guilty parties here. (1) The service that provides the equipment and resources that companies use to send out their junk advertisements (like horizons.net).
(2) The actual company that the advertisement was for. They are the ones that pay the spam services to send out their crap.
Getting the company #2 that the advertisement was for back was easy. The advertisement had a 1-800 number. It costs them money every time you call into that number. I called into it and left a 10 minute blank message. Then I was able to stay on the phone with them for 15 minutes without saying a word.
Getting the spam provider #1 back is a bit more involved. Since they dubiously prevent connections and hide all of their details, to seek more information on them I made use of the Internic database. The Internic database entry for horizons.net was also dubious in nature.
You can see what I found by clicking here and reviewing the Whois Query for horizons.net.
I don't know how a company can get away with providing so little information on a domain to Internic. To find out more I followed a link to the Internic Handle of Compu-Trak, Inc., the company that seems to own horizons.net. To see what I found
follow this link to Compu-Trak, Inc. registrant details at Internic or see below.
Compu-Trak, Inc. (HORIZONS3-DOM) 3029-114 Stony Brook Drive
Raleigh, NC 27601 Domain Name: HORIZONS.NET Administrative Contact:
Weber, Steven (SW1943) sweber@DIGITAL.HORIZONS.NET
(919)872-3736 (FAX) (919)872-9464 Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
Hostmaster, Digital Horizons (DHH20) hostmaster@DIGITAL.HORIZONS.NET
919-719-2010 (FAX) 919-719-2009 Billing Contact:
Wisniewski, Susan (SW1925) susan@HORIZONS.NET
(919)872-3736 (FAX) (919)872-9464
At this point I am going to attempt to contact one of these people through email. Then maybe I will send them advertisements on a daily basis until they get sick of it.
In my opinion Steven Weber is a vulture that is capitalizing off of the dreg side of the Internet. Turning a good resource for learning and information into another cheap commercial aspect of capitalism.
I will update this page when I have accomplished something worth reporting. You can join my efforts in trying to contact one of these idiots and tell them where they can send their spam from now on!
Email sweber@DIGITAL.HORIZONS.NET and tell him to keep his spam.
Phone this toll free number 1-800-328-7103 and tell them that they exercise poor judgement for making use of spam advertising.
To view the latest SPAM email from them, click here.
Notice how they try to sanction their actions at the bottom of the email. Explorer 4.0x users should
be able to view this email document from within their browser window.
-Roach :o)
[HOME]
[ICQ]
[SPAM]
[ADSL]
[DESIGN]
[RESUME]
[LINKS]
|
|